“A ROOM WITHOUT BOOKS IS LIKE A BODY WITHOUT A SOUL”

Marcus Tullius Cicero

To shorten the title I’ll write here who wrote/said the quote.

Hello and Welcome to

LAND OF MAKE-BELIEVE!

I’m a Swede in love with all things stories and make-believe, and my name is Danielle. But you can find out more about me here. 🙂 One thing you should know though, is that this blog will most definitely not be spoiler free. There will probably not be many in the Top 10’s because I don’t want them to be too long, but it might happen from time to time. 🙂

I previously had another blog (X) but I decided I needed a change. And so here I am… And having gotten well into the new year, I decided to start this off with a list of the TOP 10 series I’ve watched in 2015. It was tough, but after deciding to go with the series I’ve seen the most last year, I finally made a descision. So without furter ado; the first Top 10 of the year. 😉

10. Bones (FOX)

boness

Now, to be honest, the main reason I began watching Bones is because of David Boreanaz a.k.a. Seeley Booth. I’ve been a fan of his ever since that first appearance on Buffy the Vampire Slayer – one of my favorite childhood series, and I’m sure I’ll get to that some other day.

To be honest, Bones can be very sexists at times. Even though Brennan (Emily Deschanel) is very capable of handling herself in times of trouble, they still make her out as the damsel in distress a lot of the time. And with the other ladies. But, I have overlooked that flaw due to the fact that it is still a great story, and there are many great and interesting characters and relationships. There are many happy moments, and just as many heartbreaking ones. I absolutely hated watching Dr. Sweets (John Francis Daley) die, and to see adorable Zackarooni (Eric Millegan)  being manipulated by a villainous cannibal! 😥

So far, my favorite villain is Christopher Pelant (Andrew Leeds) – a hacker with an obsession with Bones. As I said, I won’t be going into details much in the Top 10’s, but I will bring this up again when I write about how I love the villains; and trust me, it will come up. 🙂

9. Game of Thrones (HBO)

got

This is one of my absolute favorite genres; period pieces (set in the olden days). And mixed with fantasy… Could it get any better? 😉

I think what I love most about it, other than the costumes, dragons (who doesn’t love dragons, right?) and the amount of strong women, is the complexity. There are so many different stories being told all at once, and you’re always on your toes. You never know what’s going to happen, or who might die next. Usually, they don’t kill off the popular characters, but in Game of Thrones; no one is safe. And I love it! And I’m super excited to see what happens next! 😀

8. Law & Order: Special Victims Unit (NBC)

svu

SVU is a spin-off of Law & Order, and the only LAO I watch. Even at it’s 17th season, I’m still hooked, hard (although, I only just started with the latest season). I’ve been a fan for as long as I can remember, but it wasn’t until last year that I actually decided to watch it all, from the beginning.

This show is filled with misogony, rasicm and victim blaming. But I also think this show is extremely important – because it brings awareness to rape culture and other social issues. But those are not the only crimes in the series. That’s one reason why I’m still hooked – because it’s diverse, and now they have crossovers with the Chicago franchise (Fire, Med and P.D.) And Mariska Hargitay is an amazing actress, and a very beautiful and inspiring woman. After being sent fanmail from survivors, Hargitay founded the organisation Joyful Heart Foundation which provides support to survivors of sexual assault, domestic violence and child abuse. 

Obviously she isn’t the only great character in the series, but she is the lead, and my number one favorite. My other three favorite characters are Dr. George Huang (BD Wong), a psochologist borrowed from the FBI, Detective Munch (Richard Belzer) and ADA Rafael Barba (Raúl Esparza).

7. Teen Wolf (MTV)

teenwolf

Now I know that the name can make it sound bad, and cheesy. But this is a really great show, with so many great characters; good and bad. As you may have guessed, I love all beings supernatural, and there are some pretty badass hunters as well. But beware, not all hunters are good, and not all monsters are bad. 😉

If you ever want just one reason to start watching this amazing, intruiging and badass series, just go to youtube and search for “teen wolf you can’t kill me”. Dylan O’Brien’s performance in that scene is epic! And by far the best villain ever in Beacon Hills. It’s actually my favorite scene, ever, of Teen Wolf. 🙂

One downside, however, is that there isn’t always contuinency in the plot. Some characters left without explanation, and some promised to come back, but didn’t. But those are all flaws I can live with.

6. Hannibal (NBC)

Hanniball

While the allure of the mystical and supernatural is strong, I’ve always been very fascinated with the human villains. The psychopaths escpecially. And my love for Hannibal the Cannibal began years ago when I saw  Silence of the Lambs for the first time. Anthony Hopkin’s performance was excellent.

As always, it was hard at first to see someone else play the part. But once I actually began watching the series I immediately changed my mind. Mads Mikkelsen is truly an amazing actor, and a great fit for the part. But what’s so great about this series is the relationship between Dr. Lecter and Will Graham (Hugh Dancy). It’s so wrong, but so right. And the ending was terrific, and while I had seen gif’s on tumblr before, I didn’t expect it to happen the way that it did. And I’m really glad I didn’t.

5. Orphan Black (BBC)

orphanblack

Orphan Black is a series I’ve been meaning to watch for a long while, and I finally got around to it. And it’s so much better than I had initially expected. 🙂

The plot is complex, intruiging and well written, as is the characters. It’s got corrupt organisations, lgbtq+ representation and clones (Tatiana Maslany and Ari Millen). Honestly, I really don’t know how they do it. Sometimes I even forget it’s the same person playing all those different characters… I literally asked myselft “who’s that?” once, and it was another clone! :O This is one of the series with the best actors/actresses and plot, and I am so in love with this!

4. Sense8 (Netflix)

sense8

This is a show about mentally linked individuals that are “born” in clusters of 8, hence the name Sense8. And it is one of the best pieces of  cinemagrophy that I have ever had the pleasure of watching. It is ridicously well made, and I am just in awe! Add the well written script, and you’ve got one of the best series to have ever been made.

It’s really interesting to see how they filmed it, and I’m sure that if you search for behind the scenes on youtube lots will come up.

And, as usual, they’ve also got a great, scary villain. I’m not easily scared or affected by villains (because I love them too much probably!), but Whispers gives me the creeps! And I am super excited for the next season!

3. Marvel’s Daredevil (Netflix)

Daredevil

Here’s another excellent Netflix series, and it’s Marvel too. 😀 I love comic adaptions, and while the movies are great, Netflix is way better because they can go so much deeper, and darker. So there’s more violence and such in this, but it’s way more apparent in the next one on the list.

I sincerely hope that you have not seen the movie Daredevil, because that was just awful. But in case you have, this will wipe it off your memory. It’s just that good!

2. Marvel’s Jessica Jones (Netflix)

JessicaJones

The number one reason why I like this series is because it is so dark. It deals with real problems. With real trauma, and the aftermath. Most importantly, it’s realistic. You don’t walk away unscathed after what happened to her, after being controlled by the best villain I have ever seen. Kilgrave (David Tennant). But she is also so strong – and not just physically – and kind and caring, even though she tries her hardest not to.

This is David Tennant’s best performance yet! Not that I’ve seen that much with him, but he was absolutely brilliant. And he really managed to creep me out. I have never been this affected by a villain before, and neither Hannibal or Whispers has got anything on him.

Jessica Jones (Krysten Ritter) is by far my favorite superhero of all, at least in the cinematic universe.

1. The 100 (The CW)

the100

The 100 is a dystopian series based on the trilogy by Kass Morgan; and the show that finally broke me… Never have I ever been this invested in a series (shocking, I know), and never have I ever been broken down by one (also very shocking). So as you can guess, I want everyone to suffer with me. 😉 I’ve managed to get my best friend to watch it, but so far he’s only one episode in. But my twin sister is also hooked, and beaten down by what’s recently happened (not as bad as me though cause I seriously considered quitting this one). And while I don’t want to spoil my number one favorite series, I can tell you it has to do with the character Bellamy Blake (Bob Morley – who is half filipino. Representation, yay!). While I am deeply wounded by this, I am looking forward for a redemption arc that I need them to have written for Bellamy.

And last but not least, a few honorable mentions that didn’t make the cut 😉

Arrow, Elementary, Grimm, Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., Pretty Little Liars, Chicago Fire and Reign.

These are not all the series I follow – not by a long shot – but it’s the ones I’m most caught up on.

But what about you? Any favorite series? Is it on the list perhaps?

Let me know in the comments and and may we meet again!  

 PS! Pun totally intended (“may we meet again” is from The 100). 😉

Leave a Reply

