“A WARRIOR DOESN’T WORRY ABOUT WHAT HE CAN’T CONTROL”

— Octavia Blake, The 100 (the CW).

Hello & Welcome!

As a lover of all things stories, music is a big part of my life. And while my biggest love is country/folk music, I enjoy all sorts of genres and I obsess over different songs  every now and then. So I thought, why not share those favorite songs of the month, or week. Depending on how many songs I change out for new ones, we’ll see how often I’ll write these posts. And I will be including my favorite lines/parts because there’s almost always a part that really gives you the feels. So, what songs am I obsessing over at the moment?

She Wolf – Shakira

She Wolf is, for someone like me, kind of worth giving a chance just for the name. I love animals, and wolves are among my favorites. And I love anything implying anything supernatural (like werewolves, in this case). 😉 The music is great and catchy. And the lyrics are great, fun and I really enjoy that little “howl” in the chorus.

Favorite line: “Darling it is no joke, this is lycanthropy”.

Home – Flyleaf

Flyleaf is a band that you wouldn’t really think I’m into if you knew me, because it’s a christian band – and it’s obvious in many of their songs. But I feel that their lyrics are still relatable most of the time, and really great! 😀 I am especially in love with their latest album Between The Stars. And Home is one song from that album, and one of their best ever.

Favorite part: “Every breath is a chance to know yourself, and show them what you’re made of now. Forgiveness is the sweetest sound”

Samson – Regina Spektor

This is a song I originally discovered while watching Swedish Idol, where one contestant performed this song. And ever since then, I’ve been hooked. Nothing rarely beats the original, and this is not one of those rare occurances. 😉

Favorite part: All of it. It’s not as much about the lyrics as it is about the way she sings it, and the emotion she put into it – at least for me.

Knocking On Heaven’s Door – Raign

Listening to Raign’s version is actually quite hard, and painful. It was played in the season two finale of The 100, which was a sad and painful ending in itself, but now the song only reminds me of the pain of the current season. I still listen to it though, it’s too good not too..

The song is mostly just the title being sung repeatedly, but they make it work. I usually don’t like it when they do that. And like with Samson, it’s more about the emotion they put into it – and since I heard it on The 100 it’s got a special place in my heart.

Favorite part: The intro, with all the ahh’s. It’s so full of emotion. 😍

Not On Drugs – Tove Lo

This is a more upbeat song and other than Timebomb, this is my favorite song of Tove Lo’s. And hey, she’s a fellow swede 😉

Sidenote; her song Habits (Stay High) was featured in an episode of Arrow. 🙂

Favorite line: “I sing to the night, let me sing to you”.

Where It All Begins – Hunter Hayes ft. Lady Antebellum

This is country at it’s finest – two of my favorite country artists/bands. I’ve been a fan of Lady Antebellum ever since Need You Now, and I found Hunter Hayes one or two years ago. Country has always been my favorite genre – or for as long as I can remember at least – and this is one of many reasons why.

Favorite line: “But if you never get knocked down, you’ll never learn how to fight”.

I Am Invincible – Cassadee Pope

This one I found while listening to a country playlist on google play music, and boy am I glad I did. It’s a song about girl empowerment, at least that’s how I interpret it. It’s amazing and the lyrics are fantastic. And also, Cassadee and Anna Kendrick are doppelgangers. 😉

Favorite line: “I’m a diamond cut to last”.

Angels – Within Temptation

Within Temptation is one of my favorite bands, and one I’ve unknowingly been a fan of since way back when MTV actually played music videos, but that’s a story for another time. Angels is my favorite song before the album Hydra.

Favorite line: “No remorse cause I still remember the smile when you tore me apart”.

Let Me Love You (Until You Learn To Love Yourself) – Glee Cast (Jacob Artist)

This is a simple song, with only piano and strings and mosty the same lyrics. But great songs don’t need anything else, and while the lyrics are amazing it’s the emotion that really gets to you – and this is one of those rare occasions where the cover is better than the original (it’s originally made by Ne-yo). And while I’m no longer a fan of Glee, they still do great music, and the pure emotion in this performance is a perfect example of that. 😍

I should also mention (more like have to) that this song can actually bring me to tears, that’s how beautiful it is. And while I’m a big crier when it comes to books and TV, it’s hard to get the tears flowing by music alone. Not even Raign can do that (and that ending was tough!).

Favorite part: All of it! It’s just so pure all the way through. 

Piece By Piece (Idol Version) – Kelly Clarkson

Kelly Clarkson is my all time favorite artist, and has been ever since she won American Idol. And I’ve always found her lyrics deep, relatable and just plain brilliant, but this is a song I can really relate too, even though my father didn’t actually leave in that sense. But I still relate nontheless. I was even the same age! 😮

Obviously the original version is great as well, but I prefer the version she performed on the tenth and final season of American Idol. This might actaully be my favorite song ever! 😍

Favorite line: “And she will never have to wonder her worth, because unlike you I’m gonna put her first”/”Piece by piece he restored my faith, that a man can be kind and a father could stay”. I just couldn’t decide on just one. 😉

But how about you? Any favorite songs or artists/bands? Let me know in the comments! 

And may we meet again!

Leave a Reply

